Prophetic Truth – “Deity which outlines but is not outlined” (1)

In II Corinthians 10:3,4 Paul writes, (3) “For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh: (4)  (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;).”

The following guest post by Bob Vessels, CS, Christian Science Practitioner, is his testimony to the last blog post “The Truth – Seven Smooth Stones”:

“Sometime ago I found myself spending a great deal of time pondering the significance of what Mrs. Eddy had written on page 151 of Science and Health where she tells us that: ‘Fear never stopped being and its action. The blood, heart, lungs, brain, etc., have nothing to do with Life, God. Every function of the real man is governed by the divine Mind. The human mind has no power to kill or to cure, and it has no control over God’s man. The divine Mind that made man maintains His own image and likeness. The human mind is opposed to God and must be put off, as St. Paul declares. All that really exists is the divine Mind and its idea, and in this Mind the entire being is found harmonious and eternal.’ I took portions of this statement and thought about them a great deal; they became what I called ‘ponderables.’ I thought of the significance of the statement that ‘Every function of the real man is governed by the divine Mind’ (Science and Health p. 151). I realized the significance of the statement that when the divine Mind made man and than said OK lets see what you can do with what I have made. No you see that same Mind maintained what was made in a state of perfection so that it could be a continuing part of God’s ‘very good’ creation. At the time when I was pondering all of the powerful statements on page 151 of Science and Health I didn’t realize that I was busy polishing one of the seven synonyms for God because I was going to need  it to destroy a Goliath that was about to challenge me in combat. When this Goliath straight at me my ‘stone,’ Mind was already polished so I would be victorious. What was that Goliath you might ask? Well here is your answer. My wife woke me up late at night before we were going to go on a trip indicating she was passing out. I got up and went to her in the bathroom as she passed out in my arms. I thought do I call 911 and realized that I already had an immediate answer for this emergency, Goliath, in what I had been pondering, polishing, so I used each and every one of the facts about Mind that I had thought about for weeks. My wife responded to me with a statement about expunge and turned, expelled a golf sized object from her mouth into the toilet. She than tells me she is OK and went to bed. I continued to pray before I went back to bed. Needless to say we left for our trip as we had planned on the next day. [More details about this healing can be found on pages 58 & 59 of the March 1997 Journal] Some would say that I was prayed up. I believe I had polished an important stone in our arsenal for destroying false beliefs. Am I done polishing this stone? No way this is a continuing lifetime process. What I know now about the unfathomable Mind and it’s expression is way beyond what I new on the night that I was called on to bring healing to a discordant condition that had tried to disrupt my life.  I am in the polishing business and Paul’s Blog has got me busy working with a very important Goliath destroying stone, Truth. In closing let me urge you to keep polishing!”

Mary Baker Eddy gives us some polish when she writes in Science and Health “MAN. …the full representation of Mind” and “MIND.  The only I, or Us; the only Spirit, Soul, divine Principle, substance, Life, Truth, Love; …or God, of whom man is the full and perfect expression;” (p.591).

The magnificent Seven – ponderables!

(1) Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy p.591

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prophetic Truth – “Deity which outlines but is not outlined” (1)

  1. George Henke says:

    “But, say you, is a stone spiritual?
    To erring material sense, No! but to unerring spiritual sense, it is a small manifestation of Mind, a type of spiritual substance, “the substance of things hoped for.” Mortals can know a stone as substance, only by first admitting that it is substantial. Take away the mortal sense of substance, and the stone itself would disappear, only to reappear in the spiritual sense thereof. ” (Misc 27: 27-2)

    “The entire purpose of true education is to make one not only know the truth but live it – to make one enjoy doing right, make one not work in the sunshine and run away in the storm, but work midst clouds of wrong, injustice, envy, hate; and wait on God, the strong deliverer, who will reward righteousness and punish iniquity. “As thy days, so shall thy strength be. ” (My 252: 10-17)

  2. Bob Vessels says:

    George I am grateful you are responding; for a while I thought only Bob & Paul were sharing thoughts about Truth. I wanted to share with you how I made the decision to treat the 7 synonyms for God as stones that I am polishing so I will be a more effective healer.
    Jesus talked about the importance of the parables in bringing the Christ Truth to those who were not even aware of spiritual concepts. A dear friend of mine — a practitioner and Teacher of Christian Science talked about the importance of building bridges so people that know nothing about God can find their way to explore concepts that are behind an omnipotent, omnipresent, omniscient, God, good — omni-action. Mrs Eddy defines Rock, in relevant part as “Spiritual foundation; Truth….” (S&H 593:18) Isn’t a stone a small rock? My decision to polish the stone “Truth” is to facilitate my ability to kill the “Goliath’s” of today — cancer, dementia, violence, sexual promiscuity etc. I have found it helps me to focus on the spiritual reality and to heal. In part that is why I felt compelled to share it with others. Doing this together we can see the path to the “bridge” that will clarify our relationship with God who made us and maintains us as important individual members of His/Her “very good” creation.
    That being said let me share some recent thoughts I consider to be a part of my “divine adventure”. I pray that this may be of help to you. Nauset beach in Cape Cod is a favorite of mine. Over the years there have been stones thrown up on that beach that are very smooth and beautiful; being tumbled about by the waves their rough edges have been smoothed by the other stones and the sand. There are white ones; there are shades of green, gray, and brown stones; and there are white, green, brown, gray ones with contrasting stripes. All of them are very smooth. It became impossible for me to go to Nauset without bringing home the most beautiful stone that I found that particular day.
    When I was teaching the older class in my Branch Church’s Sunday School I decided to bring one of the stones home for each and every one of the members of the class. I used a black marker to place the name of one of the synonyms on each of the stones. This became the synonym that student was to ponder and keep in thought as we continued our exploration of the power and presence of their all-harmonious Father-Mother God. Doesn’t this make it clearer how I became a polisher of the healing power in the 7 synonyms for God?
    Wanted to take a moment to share with you two thoughts, ‘polishing agents”, I have been pondering in my continuing effort to heighten my understanding of Truth; I suspect this will be a “divine adventure” that never ends.
     The sunlight of Truth invigorates and purifies the body (Ref. 162:4)
     Truth has no consciousness of error; it neutralizes error by destroying it! (Ref. S&H 243:25; 162:6; 339:2)
    Love to have you join me in “polishing” the synonym Truth. You don’t have to write a long winded contribution like I tend to do. Even a mere citation with a comment is a help. Share a thought from the Bible, S&H or a Hymn, and better yet a healing to help with our understanding of Truth so we are all better prepared, like David was, to go out and do battle with the Goliath.

  3. George Henke says:

    It is impossible to throw a stone at something that does not exist.

    You will never hit it.

    “There is no disease”. (S&H 421:18 only)

    It has no name.

    There is no Golaith, outside of one’s own dream concept.

    See “Neither Villains nor Victims” Paul Stark Seeley (CS Sentinel)

    If David thought for a moment otherwise, the outcome would have been quite different.

    It is ok to create parables like the Master’s as long as they are as scientific.

    “Jesus of Nazareth was the most scientific man that every trod the globe” (S&H 313:23-24)

    Previous posts have pointed out that this is an exact Science.

    “A slight divergence is fatal in Science” (Rud 17: 1 only)

    In speaking of “instantaneous cure”, Mrs Eddy writes, “To consummate this desideratum, mortal mind must pass through three stages of growth. First, self-knowledge”. (Misc 355:19-12)

    “It is easier to desire Truth than to rid oneself of error. Mortals may seek the understanding of Christian Science, but they will not be able glean from Christian Science the facts of being without striving for it. This strife consists in the endeavor to forsake error of every kind and possess no other consciousness than good” (S&H 322:31-5

  4. George Henke says:

    If you go to the movies and don’t like what you see, don’t start beating up the screen and throwing things at it.

    Just go in the back and turn off the camera.

    “To strike out right and left against the mist, never clears the vision; but to lift your head above it, is a sovereign panacea” (Misc, p 355).

  5. hey there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up
    something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical
    issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload
    the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining,
    but slow loading instances times will very
    frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your
    high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well
    I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out
    for much more of your respective interesting content.
    Make sure you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

