The Truth – Seven Smooth Stones

Thanks to Bob Vessels for his following comment bringing more light to our discovery of “Know the Truth – A spiritual Law of Freedom.”

Bob writes, “The story of David killing Goliath with just one of five smooth stones suggests to me that the Goliaths of today — dementia, Alzheimer’s, cancer etc — are ripe for destruction. You see we have a greater arsenal than David did. We have seven stones — Life, Truth, Love, Soul, Spirit, Mind, Principle — available to us. (Mary Baker Eddy in Science and Health defines these terms as synonymous for what is God). What we need to do is make certain they are made smooth by an enlightened understanding, and demonstration. Like David we really only need one smooth stone to do the job, but we are better prepared to do battle if all seven of the stones in our possession are smooth. As I thought about this I felt blessed by the recent postings on the ‘Know the “Truth”’ blogs. They provided very effective ‘polishing agents’ for helping me smooth my concept of Truth as an important stone in the arsenal for destroying the Goliaths of today. Truly ‘… Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall make you free’ from each and every argument being used to convince us that we are less than the image and likeness of God.’”

In a talk entitled “It shall be the duty …” given by Jack Hubbell, CSB, on November 10, 1996, he recounts that in an article in the New York Times in the early Fall of 1996 entitiled “The Spin Doctors,” it discusses the placebo and nocebo effects. Now how does this relate to our seven smooth stones. Jack goes on to say that first, a placebo is a false drug – such as a sugar pill – that contains no medicinal ingredient. The belief of its curative benefit is it’s so called medicinal ingredient. Nocebo is the opposite of placebo. It is a belief in sickness through a mental catalyst an aggressive mental suggestion. Mary Baker Eddy depicts this nocebo effect in Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, “A man was made to believe that he occupied a bed where a cholera patient had died. Immediately the symptoms of this disease appeared, and the man died. The fact was, that he had not caught the cholera by material contact, because no cholera patient had been in that bed … where did the symptoms come from?” (p. 154) Jack’s talk states that Robert Hahn, an epidemiologist at the center for disease control, wrote in a paper given at a nocebo conference “beliefs can make us sick as well as healthy. The nocebo phenomenon is a little – recognized facet of culture that may be responsible for a substantial variety of pathology throughout the world.”

Now where is this leading us!

The Pharma industry has embraced the “nocebo phenomenon” as central to their marketing model – to communicate and sell the belief of a specific sickness or disease – i.e.: the nocebo – and then to provide the medical equivalent of “a placebo phenomenon” in the form of an FDA approved drug solution, affirmatively entitled by a doctor prescribed controlled process. This Pharma model, nocebo/placebo, is in my opinion equivalent to the anti-Christ – a belief in the power of an aggressive mental suggestion.

Enter today’s David’s with seven smooth stones – Life – our eternal being as created in the image of God; Truth – our spiritual reality resulting in living as the likeness of God; Love – our ever-present unconditional goodness as the enlightened reflection of God; Mind – our infinite intelligence as manifesting the divine cause and effect; Soul – our expressed identity and individuality as being one with the creation of God; Spirit – our spiritual substance as reflective of ever-present Life, Truth, and Love; and Principle – God’s Law in operation, demonstrating His omnipotent, omniscient and omnipresent scientific presence, here and now. These seven smooth stones, munitions of Truth, are synonyms for God. “The Great I Am; the All knowing, all-seeing, all-acting, all wise, all-loving, and eternal” (Science and Health p. 587). Jack Hubbell concludes, in essence, that a placebo or nocebo belief can have no effect in a consciousness that knows that which is and a consciousness that knows that which is, is a consciousness imbued with the Christ. Being conscious of reality – being conscious of ourselves as we really are – is knowing the Truth that makes us free – not a question of changing reality but of discovering it – The antidote to the anti-Christ!

As Bob Vessels’s expressed it “’polishing agents’ for helping me smooth my concepts of Truth.”

The suppositional belief systems employed in the use of a placebo and nocebo pharma model are not solutions to sin, disease, and death, as is confirmed by empirical medical science in the observation that these beliefs mutate and migrate to new resistant forms of material expression that compromise health and well being which require ever changing Pharma solutions. Mary Baker Eddy speaks to this in Science and Health with the marginal heading “advancing degrees,” “Evidences of progress and of spiritualization greet us on every hand. Drug-systems are quitting their hold on matter and so letting in matter’s higher stratum, mortal mind. Homoeopathy, a step in advance of allopathy, is doing this. Matter is going out of medicine; and mortal mind, of a higher attenuation than the drug, is governing the pellet” (p.158). She states “Metaphysics, as taught in Christian Science, is the next stately step beyond homoeopathy. In metaphysics, matter disappears from the remedy entirely, and Mind takes its rightful and supreme place …Christian Science exterminates the drug, and rests on Mind alone as the curative Principle, acknowledging that the divine Mind has all power” (p.156-157).

The Goliaths of today, aggressive mental suggestions, which are masked and armed in their assault on our consciousness through directed messaging and imposed solutions – dissipate forever when impacted with any and all of the seven smooth stones – confirming the presence of the Christ and polished by the grace of God.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Truth – Seven Smooth Stones

  1. George Henke says:

    From my earliest days in Sunday School, the 5 smooth stones were always described as the 5 senses, that David ws overcoming fear by rising above the false testimony of the 5 senses.

    “The entire purpose of education is to make one not only know the truth but live it . . .” (My 252:10-12)

  2. Bob Vessels says:

    George. Intereting viewpoint. But it prompts me to note that this suggests David took all of these physical senses into battle with him and used one of them to kill Goliath. I have a problem with that idea. Let me share with you where I am coming from. Sometime ago I found myself spending a great deal of time pondering the significance of what Mrs. Eddy had written on page 151 of Science and Health where she tells us that: “Fear never stopped being and its action. The blood, heart, lungs, brain, etc., have nothing to do with Life, God. Every function of the real man is governed by the divine Mind. The human mind has no power to kill or to cure, and it has no control over God’s man. The divine Mind that made man maintains His own image and likeness. The human mind is opposed to God and must be put off, as St. Paul declares. All that really exists is the divine Mind and its idea, and in this Mind the entire being is found harmonious and eternal.” I took portions of this statement and thought about them a great deal; they became what I called”ponderables”. I thought of the significance of the statement that “Every function of the real man is governed by the divine Mind” I realized the significance of the statement that when the divine Mind made man and than said OK lets see what you can do with what I have made. No you see that same Mind maintained what was made in a state of perfection so that it could be a continuing part of God’s “very good” creation. At the time when I was pondering all of the powerful statements on page 151 I didn’t realize that I was busy polishing one of the seven synonyms for God because I was going to need it to destroy a Goliath that was about to challenge me in combat. When this Goliath straight at me my “stone” ,Mind was already polished so I would be victorious. What was that Goliath you might ask? Well here is your answer. My wife woke me up late at night before we were going to go on a trip indicating she was passing out. I got up and went to her in the bathroom as she passed out in my arms. I thought do I call 911 and realized that I already had an immediate answer for this emergency, Goliath, in what I had been pondering, polishing, so I used each and every one of the the facts about Mind that I had thought about for weeks. My wife responded to me with a statement about expunge and turned expelled a golf sized object from her mouth into the toilet. She than tells me she is OK and went to bed. I continued to pray before I went back to bed. Needless to say we left for our trip as we had planned on the next day. [More details about this healing can be found on pages 58 & 59 of the March 1997 Journal] Some would say that I was prayed up. I believe I had polished an important stone in our arsenel for destroying false beliefs. Am I done polishing this stone? No way this is a continuing lifetime process. What I know now about the unfathomable Mind and it’s expression is way beyond what I new on the night that I was called on to bring healing to a discordant condition that had tried to disrupt my life. I am in the polishing business and Paul’s Blog has got me busy working with a very important Goliath destroying stone Truth. In closing let me urge you to keep polishing!

  3. Pingback: The Truth – Seven Smooth Stones | Cure Your Spirit and Improve Your Health

Leave a Reply

