“We Can Work It Out”

Last week I posted a blog regarding you can’t take the Christ out of Christmas.  Many people really enjoyed the blog.  Some of those that enjoyed it were members of my church, The First Church Of Christ Scientist.  Some folks found it helpful to learn some historical facts about the X in Xmas.  But alas I’m not here to talk to the ones that liked it or found it helpful or funny or cute.  I’m here to address my friend who found it offensive.  Why?  Because it has always been my nature to, as they say:  “leave no man behind.”  That doesn’t mean to convince him I was right or that he should see it my way.  It means to listen to him and not take anything personal.  And if I hear something that resonates I should take an action.  So that is exactly what I’m doing.

My friend said that I compared the Resurrection to Frosty the Snowman.  And I really wanted to get defensive about that.  I wanted to defend my position when he brought it to my attention.  I wanted to be right.  But a wise man once told me:  “Adam you can be right or you can be happy.  And if you are trying real hard to be the first, most likely the second will elude you.”  Also there was no need for me to defend a position, because I didn’t have a position about Frosty.  And I certainly did not mean to compare the two or trivialize the Resurrection.  I was merely attempting to find something symbolic in a cartoon.

This entire incident reminds me of John Lennon and his very unpopular quote about Jesus.  And YES I’m comparing myself with John Lennon… “IMAGINE” that.  But remember I am only trying to” Give Peace A Chance.”

Let me make one thing clear in this comparison.  I am not saying I am a prolific song writer, what I am saying is I am often misunderstood.  And my faith, Christian Science is very often misunderstood.  My colleague in the UK, Tony Lobl, has a blog site devoted to that very topic. It is entitled: “Oh Lord, Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood.”  -what Christian Science is, and what it isn’t.  christiansciencecomsuk.wordpress.com

One of the most controversial statements Lennon ever made was on March 4th 1966.  It was published in England’s Evening Standard. Essentially his quote about the Beatles being bigger than Jesus was taken out of context 5 months later by a teen magazine in the US. In context all he was saying that “in England that we meant more to kids than Jesus did, or religion at that time.” Now I love the Beatles a LOT.  I hold them in high regard as a group and as individuals.  But in no way do they hold a candle to Christ Jesus, they just aren’t in the same league.  And in NO way do I think that Frosty the Snowman is a Christ figure. Period.

In November 2008, 42 years after Lennon said what he did and 28 years after he passed on, the Vatican forgave him for that quote.  How long do you think Christ would have taken to forgive? I do know that unlike Lennon, I won’t have to wait that long for my friend to forgive me because he is a disciple and I know that he already has.  You see, he and I sing the same tune and it’s called “All You Need Is Love.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “We Can Work It Out”

  1. Felice Meyer says:

    Nicely articulated Adam! Yes, we can all be ready to listen for the thought behind the words! Human language is pretty primitive! Mary Baker Eddy admitted definite limitations when trying to explain metaphysical points in her primary book Science and Health, “Speaking of the things of Spirit while dwelling on a material plane, material terms must be generally employed. Mortal thought does not at once catch the higher meaning, and can do so only as thought is educated up to spiritual apprehension. To a certain extent this is equally true of all learning, even that which is wholly material.” Science and Health p 349. However she also wrote, “When the heart speaks, however simple the words, its language is always acceptable to those who have hearts.” (Misc Writings p 262) and there is where we find unity – or, a deep patience and willingness to try to understand another’s point of view, measured and peaceable.

    I too agree that the good cheer we associate with Christmas inspired “Frosty the Snowman”! The joy that takes pleasure in having the opportunity to give to another; in finding the perfect gift for some one else is divine! It’ s only when willfulness, competiveness, egotism, or just plain materialism overwhelm our Christmas activities that the whole point of the Advent is lost, including that Christ spirit.

    Bravo, Adam for weaving your way through another’s differing pov.

Leave a Reply

