The Tao of 31

In the last 40 years of going to Baskin Robbins, I never once ate Jamoca Almond Fudge.  Never once ordered it.  Was never tempted by it.  Funny, you could say that I didn’t understand it.  Now, in all those years I never once had an ill feeling towards JAF.  I never judged it.  Truth be told, I think I had moments of curiosity about it.  But I never was personally sold on it.  And in all this time, Baskin Robbins never once stopped selling it – and I was fine with that.  I never boycotted them for selling it.  Surely, I never tried to create a law against Jamoca Almond Fudge.  You could actually say that I was even warmed by it still being there after all this time.  Sitting in the first fridge down the street from my temple – I mean, flavor – Chocolate Chip Mint.   I had determined that there were most likely believers – I mean, customers – who partook in Jamoca Almond Fudge.  And there these two flavors were, living freely and without opposition in the land of the cold and the home of the flavorful.  They both had their place and they were both obviously essential to the whole of 31 Flavors.

Now, the Tao of 31 not only holds true for ice-cream, it can hold true for just about any of life’s topics.  Sure it can – just pick one.  Any topic.  Go ahead. Oh! Did someone say health care reform?  Sure – the Tao of 31 can even translate into health care reform.

Now, most people use the allopathic (medical approach) to healthcare.  For the Tao of 31, we will call that Chocolate, Vanilla, Strawberry, Chocolate chip, etc.  And those flavors – I mean, method or methods – work for them.  And that is good.  Now, there is another, smaller % of the population that uses spiritual care.  I fall into that population.   I am one that seeks my ice cream – I mean, healthcare solutions – through prayer as taught in Christian Science. For the Tao of 31, we will call this Chocolate Chip Mint, Jamoca Almond Fudge and Quarterback Crunch. My thought is, if it was good enough for Jesus and his disciples way back when, then it’s good for me now.  Because the same divine power that healed then is still VERY much alive today.  Christian Science is truly Christianity in its purest form.  BTW – I don’t use Christian Science because my church tells me to (it doesn’t).  I use Christian Science because it works for me.  I find it very effective.  If it didn’t work, I might try Chocolate or Vanilla.  Because, as I stated, when it comes to health care, and/or ice cream, I don’t mess around.

Baskin Robbins serves 31 flavors because they know people want choices. They’ve been giving people choices since 1953. And they are the largest ice cream chain IN THE WORLD, with about 6000 locations in more than 30 countries.  They offer a choice because it works.  Hmmm, maybe that’s what our health care system needs…CHOICE.  I’d buy a gallon or two of that!

Please look for a future post on Ben and Jerry, a modern day story of Moses and Aaron.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Tao of 31

  1. Sheila Muters says:

    Hi Adam – Thanks for this very clever post. If it wasn’t so cold here in Syracuse, I might have to head off to the ice cream store to express my choice!!

    I have to also add this comment: I always thought CS’ers were, according to human calculations, a small group too until this past Monday when I was called to serve for jury duty. Out of 66 prospective jurors in this one little courtroom, there were 3 CS’ists who all attend the Syracuse church. I’d like to know how to calculate the probability of that occurence. Just goes to show us that with God all things are possible, and too that maybe we’re bigger than we think…

  2. marilee mckelvey says:

    I love the analogy! I grew up with both 31 Flavors and Christian Science. I never got chocolate in any form, but was delighted they provided all the fruit and caramel flavors I could want. Like you, I am so glad they provide chocolate flavors for those who love it. Just as health care choices need to be provided for those of us who find spiritual healing the most effective way. Choice is always good!

  3. Eric Nelson says:

    Great post! BTW, I’m a mint chocolate chip man myself 🙂

  4. Although partial to Ben and Jerry’s, your blog is an gentle read on what is often a tight-fisted discussion. Good job Adam.

  5. Pingback: Guest Blog: The Tao of 31 :: christianscienceva.com

  6. Susan says:

    Wow! I loved this blog post. A great way to get people thinking in a new way with humor. Who isn’t sold on the idea of the variety of ice cream?!

  7. Kathy says:

    Very clever and great analogy. Thanks and hope it gets read by lots of people.

  8. Noie LaRue says:

    Like a fresh breeze on a warm day, this article is! Thank you for the originality that illustrates such a vital element we need for health care in this beloved country of ours.

Leave a Reply

